MSU Foundation appoints board officers, members

The Mississippi State University Foundation is announcing its officers, as well as new members for the 45-seat board of directors.

James J. "Jim" Rouse of Houston, Texas, again serves as president. A 1962 industrial management graduate and retired ExxonMobil Corp. vice president, he and the other board leaders began their one-year terms Jan. 1, having previously served in 2011 and 2010.

Bobby Shackouls, also of Houston, and D. Hines Brannan Jr. of Atlanta, Ga., again fill the roles of vice president and treasurer, respectively. Shackouls, a 1972 chemical engineering graduate, is the retired chairman, president and CEO of Burlington Resources Inc. Brannan, a retired partner with Accenture, is a 1970 industrial engineering and 1971 MBA graduate.

John P. Rush, MSU vice president for development and alumni, serves as the board's chief executive officer, while David Easley, the foundation's executive director of finance, is chief financial officer. Jack McCarty, executive director of development, is secretary. All three are MSU alumni.

With offices in the Hunter Henry Center, the MSU Foundation administers the majority of the institution's fundraising activities and endowment funds. The current endowment stands at approximately $347 million.

Three newly appointed board members are beginning three-year terms. They include:

--Mike M. McDaniel, also of Houston, is a 1979 MSU mechanical engineering graduate who is CEO of M3 Resources LLC.

--Richard Mills Jr. of Flora, a 1980 petroleum engineering graduate, is founder and manager of Tellus Operating Group LLC.

--William C. "Bill" Mitchell of Gulfport is vice president of Brown, Mitchell and Alexander Inc. The 1975 civil engineering graduate also holds a 1987 MSU master's degree in public policy and administration.

Members of the MSU Foundation board may serve again after vacating their board seats for a one-year period. Seven beginning new three-year terms include:

--Jan L. Gwin of Memphis, Tenn., managing director of Morgan Keegan Co., is a 1971 banking and finance graduate.

--Mark S. Jordan of Canton, a real estate developer and owner with Mark S. Jordan Cos., is a 1976 landscape architecture graduate.

--Hal Parker Jr. of Bolton, managing partner for Parker Land LLC, is a 1969 business administration graduate.

--Michael W. "Mike" Sanders of Cleveland, chairman of Jimmy Sanders Inc., is a 1964 physical education graduate.

--Dr. John W. "Walt" Starr Jr. of Columbus, a periodontist with Golden-Triangle Periodontal Center, is a 1980 general science graduate.

--William A. "Lex" Taylor III of Louisville, chairman and CEO of the Taylor Group Inc., is a 1977 general business administration graduate.

--Douglas T. "Doug" Terreson of Point Clear, Ala., senior managing director of energy research for International Strategy & Investment, is a 1984 petroleum engineering graduate.

Also during 2012, Richard H. Puckett of Ridgeland is filling an open board seat. Chairman and CEO of Puckett Machinery Co., he is a 1977 general business administration graduate.

Allison Matthews | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: January 30, 2012Facebook Twitter