PRAM honors students, employees with top state public relations awards

Mississippi State University spring graduate Marisa Laudadio is the 2020 Student of the Year for the Public Relations Association of Mississippi, joining other MSU students and professionals receiving high honors during the annual PRAM awards ceremony.

The original spring ceremony was canceled because of COVID-related concerns. The late July virtual ceremony was a first-of-its-kind online celebration for PRAM.

MSU students and employees received more than two dozen awards at the ceremony.

“The long list of awards is a testament to the hard work of our talented students and dedicated faculty,” said Terry Likes, professor and head of MSU’s Department of Communication. “Our PR faculty work hard to bring real-world experience to the classroom.”

The PRAM Student of the Year Award, presented by CSpire, honors Laudadio’s dedication to the field of public relations and comes with a $1,000 scholarship. Laudadio is a political science and communication/public relations double-major from Walnut. She graduated in May as an MSU Stephen D. Lee Scholar, earning a 4.0 GPA for both of her bachelor’s degrees. She also was awarded a minor in foreign language/Spanish and was a Shackouls Honors College graduate with Collegium Honorum Distinction for completing a special “path of honor” curriculum.

The 2019 Truman Scholarship finalist also was a John C. Stennis Scholar, Haley Barbour Scholar and member of Phi Beta Kappa Honors Society. She completed internships with the Office of Agricultural Communications, MSU’s Department of Communication and the Stennis Center for Public Service in Starkville.

The PRAM awards, judged by professionals outside the geographical boundaries of the Southern Public Relations Federation -- Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, and Louisiana -- recognize outstanding work by Mississippians in the field of public relations and celebrate select individuals for their contributions to the profession in both the public and private sectors. PRism Awards represent top honors. Award-winning entries demonstrate process, results and creativity beyond tactical excellence.

Those recognized from Mississippi State University include:

Professional PRism Winners

-- Laura McPhail, Libby Havelin and Committee, National Strategic Planning and Analysis Research Center (NSPARC), “Data Summit 2019,” special event.
-- MSU Office of Public Affairs, “MSU 2019 Commercial,” audio and video.
-- Terri Hernandez, Lauren Lucas, Madeline Burdine and Peyton Neal, MSU Public Relations and Integrated Student Media Agency (PRISM)/Department of Communication, “PRISM Organization Identity Campaign,” graphics.
-- Terri Hernandez, Blake Williams and Angela Reives, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “Mercedes-Benz of Tuscaloosa Social Media Campaign: ‘Who is MBT?’” social media management. This project also received the Best of Tier 3/Tactical Materials/Projects category award.
-- Laura McPhail, NSPARC, “Women in Mississippi and East Africa Unite,” writing.
-- Dominique Lewis, NSPARC, “Nexus Article: Data and Technology Sparks Highly Skilled Future Workforce,” writing.

Student PRism Winners

-- Annie Price, NSPARC, “Creating the Portal to Kindergarten Readiness,” writing.
-- Tori Boatner, NSPARC, “Job Scout: Career Exploration App Article,” writing.

Professional Awards of Excellence

-- MSU Office of Public Affairs, “MSU Testimonial Video: Urita Agana,” audio and video.
-- Checky Herrington, MSU Office of Public Affairs, “We Ring True Landing Page Narratives,” writing.
-- Terri Hernandez, Carly Pippin, Charlotte Corr, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “Center for Community-Engagement: 2019 Annual Publication,” advertising and publications.
-- Terri Hernandez, Marisa Laudadio, Amelia Henson, Leah Worley and Camille Stevenson, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “Gender Impacts Lab Website Creation,” digital.
-- Tate Smith and Terri Hernandez, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “PRISM Logo Creation,” graphics.
-- Terri Hernandez, Bailey Sennett, Emily Stone and KaLeigh Walker, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “Center for Community-Engaged Learning Social Media Campaign,” social media management.
-- Terri Hernandez, McKinsy Harris and Avery DeVaughn, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “Mercedes-Benz of Tuscaloosa ‘Community Involvement’ Social Media Campaign,” social media management.
-- Femi Sobayo, NSPARC, “Data Summit 2019 Promotional Video,” audio and video.
-- Nathan Ansel and Femi Sobayo, NSPARC, “Data Summit 2019 Mobile App,” digital.
-- Sasha Steinberg, Office of Public Affairs, “The Concert King,” writing.

Student Awards of Excellence

-- Annie Price, Mariah Stevens and Tori Boatner, NSPARC, “#DS2019 Social Media Campaign,” student campaigns.
-- Tate Smith, Department of Communication, “Poppy Boutique,” collateral materials.
-- Mariah Stevens, NSPARC, “Data Summit: Expanding Data-Driven Conversations Across Multiple Industries,” writing.

Certificates of Merit

-- Leah Barbour, Michaela Parker, Zac Ashmore, Elizabeth North, Gina Daly and Philip Smith, MSU Extension Office of Agricultural Communications, “TCALP Recruitment,” marketing.
-- MSU Office of Public Affairs, “MSU Spring 2019 Alumnus Magazine,” advertising and publications.
-- Karen Brasher, David Ammon, Vanessa Beeson, Taylor Vollin, Dominique Belcher, Stephen Caples and Reagan Poston, MSU Agricultural and Natural Resources Marketing Team, “MAFES Discovers,” advertising and publications.
-- Janiece Pigg, Vanessa Beeson, Karen Brasher, David Ammon and Troy Weaver, MSU Agricultural and Natural Resources Marketing Team, “MAFES Sales Store Valentine’s Day Campaign,” social media management.
-- Emile Creel, Social Science Research Center, “SSRC 2019 Annual Report,” advertising and publications.
-- Laura McPhail, Dominique Lewis, Femi Sobayo, Tori Boatner, Annie Price and Mariah Stevens, NSPARC, “Nexus Fall 2019,” advertising and publications.
-- Terri Hernandez and Madeline Burdine, MSU PRISM/Department of Communication, “Children’s Foundation of Mississippi’s Website Creation,” digital.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: August 17, 2020Facebook Twitter