Millea, Hobart honored by legislators

Holland Faculty Senate President Meghan Millea and Rhett Hobart, president of the Student Association, are Mississippi State's 2012 honorees in the annual state higher education appreciation program.

The Greenville senior and the professor of economics were the land-grant institution's respective student and faculty selections for the recent HEADWAE Awards. They were part of 68 outstanding college and university students and faculty members recognized formally by the Mississippi Legislature.

An acronym for Higher Education Appreciation Day, Working for Academic Excellence, the program was created to recognize individuals on campuses "who have made outstanding contributions in promoting academic excellence."

An MSU faculty member since 1998, Millea has been honored over the years with the business college's Louis A. Hurst Outstanding Faculty, Outstanding Service and Thomas W. Hinkle Outstanding Teaching awards, among other recognitions. A University of Nebraska-Lincoln doctoral graduate, her areas of academic specialization include international and labor economics.

A communication major with a public relations focus, Hobart has a long history with MSU's Student Association. Before being elected to the top office in campus-wide voting a year ago, he had been the student government's vice president and executive assistant, as well as a Freshman Council member.

The HEADWAE program is administered by the Board of Trustees, State Institutions of Higher Learning. (For more information, see

Margaret Kovar | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: March 12, 2012Facebook Twitter