Huston named MVMA veterinarian of the year

A veterinarian at Mississippi State University has been named the state's top veterinarian, an honor that has now come to MSU's College of Veterinary Medicine three times.

Carla Huston, associate professor in the Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine, was named the Mississippi Veterinarian of the Year by the Mississippi Veterinary Medical Association. The award was announced at the 2012 MVMA winter meeting in Starkville.

The MVMA executive board selects the Veterinarian of the Year from member nominations. To be eligible, award nominees must be members for five years and attend a majority of the organization's meetings.

"Dr. Huston embodies the meaning of the MVMA Veterinarian of the Year award," said Scott Segrest, MVMA president. "Her willingness to serve in so many important areas, from animal disaster relief, academia and professional organizations to her own personal farm duties, is a lesson we should all heed. Veterinarians are exceptionally well trained in many areas of science, medicine and service. Dr. Huston is a prime example of a veterinarian who uses that education for the benefit of animals and people alike."

Huston earned her bachelor's, doctor of veterinary medicine, and doctoral degrees from The Ohio State University. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine. She serves as the Mississippi Veterinary Beef Extension and Outreach coordinator and the Mississippi Beef Quality Assurance program coordinator. She specializes in both food animal health and production, and in disaster management and response.

"I am both humbled and honored by being named the 2012 MVMA Veterinarian of the Year," Huston said. "I've been fortunate to work with many terrific students, producers and veterinary colleagues through my teaching, Extension and outreach activities at CVM. Without them, this award would not have been possible. To them I would like to express my deepest appreciation."

Awarded by the MVMA since 1970, the Veterinarian of the Year honor was given in 2002 to retired CVM dean John Thomson, and in 2003 to A. Wayne Groce, CVM emeritus professor and special projects coordinator.

The Mississippi Veterinary Medical Association is a non-profit association of veterinary professionals committed to the advancement of the science and art of veterinary medicine.

Keri Collins Lewis | MSU Ag Communications

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: March 12, 2012Facebook Twitter