Nominations open for outstanding women awards

An annual awards program sponsored by the President's Commission on the Status of Women at Mississippi State will recognize exceptional women across all employment categories.

Nominations are being accepted until Feb. 21 for the 2012 Outstanding Women Awards. "These awards, the highest given to individual women on our campus, recognize those special people who excel in every area of their contributions to Mississippi State and to the community," said Debbie Dunaway, PCSW awards chair.

"We are seeking nominations of deserving women who are advocates for the well-being, development and advancement of all women on campus and beyond," she added.

Winners will be formally recognized at an April 3 public reception, at which time they also will receive a plaque and a $200 award.

The commission was created in the 1970s by then-MSU President James D. McComas to provide guidance on issues affecting the status and role of women on campus. Today, it provides programming, seminars, and resources to support women in their growth and professional development, as well as serving as a formal liaison to the president.

Outstanding Women Award selections are made in the following nine categories:



--Professional (non-faculty),

--Graduate student,

--Undergraduate student,



--Technical/paraprofessional, and


Nomination forms are available at When completed and accompanied by two letters of recommendation, they may be forwarded by campus mail to Debbie Dunaway at mail stop 9720, Allen Hall 610.

For additional information about the organization and its awards, contact Dunaway at 662-325-3221 or

Margaret Kovar | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: January 30, 2012Facebook Twitter