17 graduate from Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program

Photo of LEAP graduates

Graduates of the 2018 Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program at Mississippi State are (seated, l-r) Terence Stringfellow, Jenny Burns, Lateshia Butler, Jaime Rickert, Josie Guerry, and Bailey Anderson; and (standing, l-r) Leah Kemp, Sawyer Bowering, Leslie Neal, Jenny Davis, Tracy Craven, Amanda Reed, Christy Wilder, Kristen Thompson and Lindsey Ketchum. Not pictured are Nick Hyer and Brad Skelton. PHOTO: Beth Wynn | Public Affairs

Seventeen Mississippi State staff members are new graduates of the university’s Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program for 2018.

LEAP’s goals and purpose include the advancement of knowledge, enhancement of leadership skills, and direct practical work application for selected employees.

During the four-month program, participants met with campus and community leaders to explore and develop their leadership skills in many areas and to more effectively lead MSU’s efforts. Conflict resolution and decision-making, managing change, divergent thinking, effective team building and employee performance management were among session topics.

“It seems each year our LEAP program gets better and better and that’s because of the participants that make the commitment to their leadership development,” said Darrell Easley, learning and development manager for MSU’s human resources management department. “These leaders are already doing amazing work, and we look forward to seeing what more they will accomplish to keep Mississippi State leading the way in teaching, research, and service.”

Mississippi State Chief Human Resources Officer Judy Spencer delivered the keynote address during the recent graduation reception at MSU’s Hunter Henry Center.

Chosen through a competitive nomination and selection process, this year’s group includes:

Baily Anderson, senior accountant, Office of Research and Economic Development

Sawyer Bowering, athletic academic counselor, Athletic Academic Support Services

Jenny Burns, academic affairs manager, College of Veterinary Medicine Academic Affairs

Lateshia Butler, compliance specialist, Office of Compliance and Integrity

Tracy Craven, instructional technology manager, Center for Distance Education

Jenny Davis, auditor, Office of Internal Audit

Josie Guerry, graduate and distance education manager, Bagley College of Engineering

Nick Hyer, coordinator, Center for Student Success

Leah Kemp, director, Carl Small Town Center

Lindsey Ketchum, senior project manager, Office of Planning, Design, and Construction Administration

Leslie Neal, marketing and events manager, MSU Career Center

Amanda Reed, business manager, Office of Student Leadership and Community Engagement

Jaime Rickert, research program manager, Institute for Clean Energy Technology

Brad Skelton, project manager, Research and Curriculum Unit

Terence Stringfellow, customer service manager, Parking and Transit Services

Kristen Thompson, business manager, Delta Research and Extension Center

Christy Wilder, research program manager, CVM Department of Basic Sciences

For additional information about LEAP, contact Easley at deasley@hrm.msstate.edu or 662-325-2203.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at www.msstate.edu.

James Carskadon | Public Affairs

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: January 7, 2019Facebook Twitter