PCSW now accepting nominations for annual awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 PCSW Awards Program, sponsored by the President's Commission on the Status of Women at Mississippi State. These awards recognize individuals both on and off campus with notable achievements in promoting the status of women, and who are advocates for the well-being, development and advancement of all women of MSU's campuses and surrounding communities. All nominations are due by Feb. 24 at noon.

Nominations will be accepted from or on behalf of qualified nominees with notable achievements in promoting the status of women, regardless of the sex, gender identity, or sexual orientation of those nominees. Nominations will be accepted for the following categories: Faculty, Staff, Graduate Student, and Community.

Award recipients will receive a plaque and a $1,000 award and will also be honored at a public reception in early April. MSU faculty, staff and students are invited to nominate candidates for the awards using the nomination form available at www.committees.msstate.edu/pcsw/awards on the PCSW website. The completed application packet along with two letters of recommendation should be e-mailed to ag1201@msstate.edu or sent to PCSW Vice Chair Alexis Gregory, 899 Collegeview Street, 240 Giles Hall, Mail Stop 9633, Mississippi State, MS 39762.

Additionally, eligible MSU undergraduate students who identify as women and/or female are invited to submit an essay, 1,000-words maximum, describing campus involvement, field of study, community service and related work as it impacts and improves the lives of women to be considered for the Student Leadership Award.

Please include a resume of accomplishments, awards, honors, previous experience and career plans for future work and service. Student Leadership Award submissions should be sent as PDFs to ag1201@msstate.edu with "PCSW Student Leadership Award" in the subject line.

The two recipients of the Student Leadership Award will receive a travel award with expenses paid to attend the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders -- www.nccwsl.org -- at the University of Maryland, College Park May 31-June 3; a cash award of $150; lunch with MSU President Mark E. Keenum; and recognition at the PCSW award ceremony.

Please contact Gregory at agregory@caad.msstate.edu or (662) 325-0722 with any questions or for additional information.

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: February 13, 2017Facebook Twitter