12 staff members selected for LEAP program

Twelve Mississippi State staff members are new participants in the university’s 2016 Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program.

LEAP’s goals include the advancement of knowledge and enhancement of leadership skills, along with direct practical work applications for selected employees.

During the intensive four-month program, members meet with campus and community leaders from various areas to explore and more effectively develop their administrative proficiencies. Conflict resolution and decision making, managing change, effective team building and employee performance management are among session topics.

“We are very excited to work with these outstanding individuals. These 12 already are leaders and the LEAP program is designed to help them reach the next level and help move MSU forward,” said Darrell Easley, learning and development manager for MSU’s human resources management department.

Chosen through a competitive nomination and selection process, this year’s group includes:

-- Phillip Akers, senior research engineer, Distributed Analytics and Security Institute.

-- Amanda Baine, business manager II, Office of the Graduate School.

-- Becky Bassett, senior grants and contacts administrator, Office of Sponsored Projects.

-- Katie Corban, marketing and communications manager, Division of Student Affairs.

-- Ashley Gillespie, contracts and grants specialist, FWRC/MAFES.

-- Jennifer McPherson, senior auditor, Office of Internal Audit.

-- Chris Pulliam, project manager, Office of Planning, Design and Construction Administration.

-- Renata Roberts, academic coordinator/lecturer, Business Academic Advising.

-- Janna Sanford, associate director of gift administration, MSU Foundation.

-- Natalie Smith, contract and grants specialist, Bagley College of Engineering.

-- Cat Walker, director of parent/student services, Dean of Students.

-- Cheryl Woody, business manager, Institute for Computational Research in Engineering.

For additional information about LEAP, contact Easley at deasley@hrm.msstate.edu or 662-325-2203.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at www.msstate.edu.

Jim Laird | Public Affairs

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: July 18, 2016Facebook Twitter