Zacharias Awards honor distinguished staff


MSU Zacharias Distinguished Staff Award winners for 2013 include (front, l-r) Sharon K. Womack, Anna Dill, Charlotte Tabereaux, Dorothy Cannon, Lisa Noffsinger, Effie Anne Hopkins, Gail Bishop; presenter Jerry Gilbert, Angela Waller, Phillip Allen, Ronnie White, Gail Maddox, Dan Coleman, and presenter Tommie Zacharias. PHOTO: Russ Houston | University Relations

Twelve Mississippi State staff members are selections for the university's 2013 Donald W. Zacharias Distinguished Staff Awards.

The honors are a memorial to the university's 15th president, in whose 1985-97 administration Staff Appreciation Day and the accompanying awards program were established. Taking place at the conclusion of each spring semester, the day of fun activities and the awards program are organized by the Professional and Support Staff Advisory Council.

To be eligible, award nominees must be classified as a professional or support staff employee working at least half-time and with a minimum of three years of campus service, among other criteria.

This year, Tommie Zacharias of Starkville, President Zacharias' widow, and Jerry Gilbert, MSU provost and executive vice president, presented each honoree with a plaque and check for $1,000.

The 2013 winners include (alphabetically):

Phillip W. "Phil" Allen, journey lineman with the physical plant administration;

Gail Bishop, administrative assistant with the College of Veterinary Medicine's clinical science department;

Dorothy T. Cannon, senior custodian with the housing and residence life department;

Dan Coleman, director of student recruitment in the Office of Admissions and Scholarships;

Anna Dill, director of The Learning Center in the College of Education;

Effie Ann Hopkins, Campus Transit bus operator;

Gail Maddox, business coordinator in the plant and soil sciences department;

Lisa Noffsinger, administrative assistant to the vice president for agriculture, forestry and veterinary medicine;

Charlotte Tabereaux, education director for the MSU Riley Center for Education and Performing Arts in Meridian;

Angela Waller, assistant director for business operations with the physical plant administration;

Ronnie White, associate director of the G. V. "Sonny" Montgomery Center for America's Veterans; and

Sharon K. Womack, research technician in the poultry science department.

For more information on the campus staff council, its awards program and other activities, visit

Allison Matthews | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: June 17, 2013Facebook Twitter