Feature Photo
Story Photo
Nicholson honored as National Alumna of the Year
Mississippi State University is honoring Janice I. Nicholson of Florence, Alabama, as its 2021 National Alumna, the university’s highest alumni honor. At the national awards event on May 13, 2021, Nicholson will become the first female to receive the university’s highest alumni honor as a host of other outstanding alumni are recognized by the MSU Alumni Association. Nicholson received her master’s and doctoral degrees in elementary education from MSU in 1967 and 1977, respectively. She also holds an education specialist degree from Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College of Education. Over a 50-year career, she was with the University of North Alabama for 37 years in teaching and administration. She retired from Blue Mountain College.
Story Photo
MSU Foundation announces officers and incoming members for 2021
The Mississippi State University Foundation is announcing 2021 leaders and incoming members for the board of directors that guides the fundraising arm of the nearly 143-year-old land-grant institution. Incoming officers with new one-year terms that began Jan. 1 include three alumni returning to offices held in 2019 and 2020. They are: D. Hines Brannan of Atlanta, Georgia, as board chair; Anthony L. Wilson of Gulfport as vice-chair; and Mike M. McDaniel of Houston, Texas, as treasurer. Rounding out the remaining board officers are MSU personnel. John P. Rush, vice president for development and alumni, is the board’s president and CEO; Janet H. Carraway, executive director of finance, is chief financial officer; and Jack McCarty, executive director of development, serves as board secretary. All are MSU graduates.
Story Photo
Looking for a way to help? Give to the MSU Student Relief Fund
The Mississippi State University community continually exhibits a great sense of responsibility and caring for enrolled students that make the land-grant institution such a special place. The MSU Student Relief Fund, built with private gifts, helps those members of the student body affected with day-to-day crises or like now, the impact to their daily lives posed by COVID-19. The Dean of Students' Office assesses needs and administers the fund for acute crises that may impact students’ ability to succeed academically. The MSU Foundation accepts gifts year-round for the MSU Student Relief Fund. Contributions for this effort can be made online or by contacting the Annual Giving office at (662) 325-2466.
Story Photo
Smoke-free policy enhances healthy environment
Mississippi State University is a smoke-free campus. Official policy prohibits the use of any combustible or vapor products anywhere on campus property including university buildings, university grounds, university vehicles, parking areas and sidewalks. The smoke-free campus policy is part of the university's commitment to creating a healthy environment for all members of the campus community. Use of cigarettes, e-cigarettes, cigars, pipes, hookah or other similar devices are prohibited by this policy. The complete policy is available at www.policies.msstate.edu/policy/91301.


The Office of Public Affairs provides Maroon MEMO as a general information
resource for Mississippi State University employees.

Web links are subject to change. Submit news, questions or comments to Jim Laird.
University names Jayroe College of Education dean
A veteran Mississippi State administrator, professor and elementary classroom teacher is being named dean of the university’s College of Education. Provost and Executive Vice President David Shaw announced last Friday [Feb. 26] that Teresa Jayroe is the new College of Education dean after having served as associate dean since 2011. She previously worked as director for the college’s Office of Clinical/Field-Based Instruction, Licensure and Outreach. Dean Angi Bourgeois of MSU’s College of Architecture, Art and Design chaired the search committee for the position, which presented two finalists to the campus community after a national search.
IHL recognizes Cutts and Burnett with Diversity and Inclusion Awards
Two Mississippi State faculty members were honored during the Mississippi Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning’s annual Diversity and Inclusion Awards ceremony last month. Qiana M. Cutts, assistant professor in MSU’s Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Foundations, as well as Derris Devost-Burnett, assistant professor in MSU’s Department of Animal and Dairy Sciences, were recognized for their efforts in advancing diversity and encouraging understanding and respect.
Tian receives $515K NSF CAREER award to support additive manufacturing research
A faculty member in Mississippi State’s Bagley College of Engineering will advance her research in additive manufacturing after receiving $515,000 from a National Science Foundation CAREER award. Wenmeng “Meg” Tian, an assistant professor in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, recently received the prestigious early career faculty development award from NSF. The funding will support her project aimed at strengthening additive manufacturing processes for small and medium sized manufacturers while protecting confidential design information.
Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: March 1, 2021Facebook Twitter